Recent reads.

Recent reads.jpg

I read every single day before I go to sleep, meaning I get through quite a few books every year. Because I know that not everyone reads on an regular basis, I figured I’d give a little overview of a few of my recent reads, so you can decide which one(s) to read. I’m not going to give a description of every book, but you can click the titles to be taken to their Waterstones page, where you will find one.

The Girls – Emma Cline

Let’s start with my most recent one. The Girls was all the hype last summer, so I’m sure you must have seen it somewhere. I was a bit hesitant about reading this, because it did get a lot of negative reviews as well as good ones. Some people said it felt like it was trying too hard, and although I love my literature, I know how annoying that can be. However, I absolutely loved this from beginning to end. I think the writer did an amazing job at setting the atmosphere and the story itself is interesting as well. Honestly, just read it, it’s really really good.

My name is Lucy Barton – Elizabeth Strout

Before this I had read another one of Elizabeth Strout’s books, Olive Kitteridge, which was really good. This one was very different though, mostly made up out of little snippets of Lucy’s life and chapters often are only a couple of pages long. I think Elizabeth Strout’s an amazing writer, and I did enjoy reading it, but I felt like I was somewhat missing the point. I know it’s supposed to be about her relationship with her mother, but I just didn’t really get it. I’d say, definitely pick Olive Kitteridge over this one.

Do not say we have nothing – Madeleine Thien

This one definitely wasn’t an easy read – it’s long, there’s lots of characters with (sometimes several) confusing names and it takes place during China’s cultural revolution, meaning it’s quite dark. I also felt like it was sort of plotless and the ending quite anticlimactic. Still, I’d recommend giving this a go if you’re interested in China’s history – I did enjoy learning about the cultural revolution.

Shtum – Jem Lester

This isn’t the sort of book I would normally read – I bought this as an easy read for my trip to Lisbon – and it only confirmed why. The writing is simplistic, the story very predictable and boring and I didn’t like it at all. Judging from the reviews, you might like this if you’re in some way interested in autism, but otherwise I wouldn’t recommend this at all.

Are there any books you think I should read?

 

One thought on “Recent reads.

Leave a Reply

