LISBON.

Lisbon 3.jpg

As I may or may not have mentioned about fifty times on the blog already, I went to Lisbon last week. Here’s all you’ll want to know!

The hostel.

I stayed at the Nest House Hostel, which is by far the best hostel I’ve ever stayed at. It’s relatively small, with only one floor and five rooms, which sort of makes it feel like you’re sharing a house with lots of flatmates. Common rooms were amazing, light and airy and there was also a free breakfast, which was simple, but really good. I’d definitely recommend staying here if you’re travelling on your own.

The weather.

The weather in Lisbon is dreamy. It’s sunny all day and about 30 degrees, but it does cool down at night, meaning you can still get a decent night’s sleep. The sun is incredibly bright though, and even though I’m not normally one to get sunburnt, I did get sunburnt twice in three days time. So take my advice and bring your factor 50.

vsco-photo-2.jpg

The city.

Lisbon is absolutely beautiful. All the buildings are so colourful and I just loved the tiled houses – so pretty! There’s also plenty of view points, squares and little terraces. I did not one, but two walking tours on my first day (although the second one hadn’t been part of the original plan haha), the first in Bairro Alto and more what I suppose is the city centre, and was a great introduction to the city. The second one was of the old town, Alfama, which I didn’t like nearly as much. The tour was good, but I preferred the other parts of town.

The people.

Now, a little warning: they do not speak English. At all. Having said that though, they are the loveliest, friendliest people around and always willing to help you out. When I couldn’t find my platform at the train station, a woman (who didn’t speak English) offered to walk me there, even though that meant leaving her own platform. So kind.

Lisbon 4.jpg

The food.

I had some really good food whilst there. The pastries, pastel de nata, are amazing, the best of course being from the world famous Pasteis de Belem. Still warm, topped with cinnamon and icing sugar and with a slightly salty crust…. so good!

I also had an amazing spaghetti and a generous glass of white wine at one of the restaurants in LX Factory, followed by the famous chocolate cake at Landeau, just a few doors down. I’m not normally a fan of chocolate cake, but oh my, this one was good.  Other good places were Gutsy in Carcavelos for burgers and the Time Out market, with lots of little food stalls.

Lisbon 1.jpg

And drinks.

One thing you can’t help but notice in Lisbon is that everyone is drinking all the time. I frequently saw people drinking beer/wine at 11am and was constantly offered drinks during the walking tours as well. I tried both the ginjinha and green wine and it’s safe to say I wasn’t entirely sober by the time the tours had finished haha.

Lisbon 2.jpg

The beach.

On my last day I decided to go to the beach. I ended up going to Carcavelos beach, because it was easily reachable by public transport, but supposedly there’s some beautiful beaches near Sintra as well. I splurged on a sunbeds and parasol combo, because of the intense sun mentioned before and spent the afternoon reading and people watching, which was perfect.

I had the best few days in Lisbon and I was really quite sad to leave, which is something that rarely happens now that I live in Scotland. I’m definitely hoping to go back soon!

Have you ever been to Lisbon? x

 

 

Leave a Reply

