This was 20.

IMG_2639.JPG

Today I’m turning 21. Now, instead of talking about how that’s seriously freaking me out (because it is), I’d like to look back for once and talk about the year I’ve had, because 20 was pretty damn good.

First of all: the people. I’ve met so many amazing new people over the past year. At university, at my summer job and just generally, in life. And some of them have become really good friends, really fast. A lot of my days/nights out or crazy stories would not have been there without them, so lots of love to all of my friends – you make me a very happy girl ❤ Naturally this year has also seen its fair share of boy drama, but none of it’s led to anything serious. And you know what, that’s fine – I’m more than happy on my own.

Then there’s all the trips I’ve been on and places I’ve been able to visit. Celebrating my 20th birthday in London last year was amazing and I can only hope that today’s birthday will be as good as last. Whilst working in England last July I was able to explore a lot more of South-England and it made me fall in love with England all over again. Since the beginning of this year I’ve also been lucky enough to visit Brussels and go on holiday to Mallorca with my mother and sister. Then there was, of course a study trip to Dubai, which was such an eye-opener. Although I didn’t like Dubai itself, I had an amazing time and I’m so glad I went. Looking at pictures from that trip still gives me all the feels. I also finally had the chance to explore some more of Scotland and it’s only made me want to see so much more before I graduate next year. Last but not least, I’m off to Lisbon this Sunday (I will just have returned when you’re reading this), a place I’ve only heard good things about, so I’m very excited!

There were other things, changes, this year that were a little less obvious, but maybe even more significant. This was the year I finally started to feel a little more settled and happy. Don’t get me wrong – I’m not saying I wasn’t happy before – but the first two years of university were such a whirlwind and it’s nice that that seems to be over now. What has made a major difference was moving into my own flat. After having lived in two different houses for most of my childhood and then in student halls for two years, having a space that is 100% mine is amazing. For the first time in my life I have a place where I feel totally comfortable and at home and hearing that I’ll be able to stay here next year, has made me incredibly happy.

I also feel like this was the year I truly left my life in the Netherlands behind. Having only been home for about three weeks last year and now having officially emigrated as well, things are different. Of course, my family will always be there, but my life’s here, in Scotland, and I couldn’t be happier about that.

Here’s to another amazing year x

 

 

Leave a Reply

